HEDON MUSEUM is open for its new season of exhibitions on Saturday 7th March 2015.
The museum – run entirely by volunteers – is one of the delights of our wonderful ancient town. Hedon’s rich history and heritage is reflected in the artefacts, items and photographs that are regularly on display in the building located behind the Town Hall on St Augustine’s Gate and accessible through Watmough’s Arcade.
The museum also boasts an upstairs exhibition area. This year for the first time since the museum opened 19 years ago, artists, collectors and groups have applied to put on displays there – and this move has resulted in a real varied programme of events being staged by people and groups who are passionate about their subject areas.
The season starts with a display of beautiful paintings about the trawling industry “The Wide Open Sea” by local artists Richard Hayton and Reg Moss described by the museum’s press officer Katy Miller as ‘depicting famous trawlers, tragedy, bravery and rescue on the North Sea’. It includes paintings of the trawlers lost in the ‘triple trawler tragedy’ of 1968 – St. Romanus, Kingston Peridot and Ross Cleveland.
The rest of the season includes exhibitions by Harland’s dolls house miniatures, a celebration of 100 years of the Women’s Institute, artwork by Carol Davidson (winner of the Judge’s Choice Award at ArtWaves 2014) and her class, and a display of old cameras and mobile phones.
A new exhibition of the drawings and artwork of FS Smith is also scheduled during 2015 which is the 90th anniversary of the artist’s death. Frederick Schultz Smith was born at Worthing in 1860 but after coming to live in Hull he sketched and painted scenes of that city and the surrounding towns and villages right up to his death in September 1925. See also ‘Museum seeks 1920’s Bicycle’.
If you have never been to Hedon Museum before, then this is the season to do so!
The museum is open Saturdays and Wednesdays from 10am – 4pm. FREE admission. Refreshments available. The museum is easy to find with signposts and boards around the town on open days giving directions.