BEFORE 1860, HEDON WAS RULED by twelve Aldermen who had been elected for life. The Aldermen controlled everything in the town including the rights to run and profit from the market and determine the local taxes that people payed.
On Saturday 15th May 2010, Hedon celebrates the 150th anniversary of the “Hedon Corporation and Borough Improvement Act” – a piece of legislation that put an end to the dominance of these Aldermen and distributed power to local residents.
However, this transfer-of-power was not achieved through the consent of the Aldermen, but took a vigorous campaign by a group of local residents known as the Hedon Reformers to change the law.
Since the success of securing the Improvement Act local government in Hedon became the responsibility of regularly elected councillors.
Hedon Museum holds a special exhibition from Saturday 15 May to 23 June 2010 where visitors can learn more about these events and how the Aldermen tried to fight back even after the Act was passed.
NOTE: Hedon Museum is staffed by enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers and is open on Saturdays and Wednesdays from 10:00am – 4:00pm.
The museum preserves and interprets the archaeological and social history of the Town of Hedon and South Holderness. In addition to core displays about the town, its Haven, civic life, public houses and wartime experiences, the museum also offers an annual programme of changing exhibitions on specialist themes.
Admission to the museum is free. Tea and coffee is available. The museum sells a range of souvenirs, toys and local history publications.